Skip to content

Picture Day

October 15, 2015

Ttirdyeoday is picture day at school. I have never been one to make the kid dress up for picture day, I figure if he wants to, great, if not, that’s OK, I’m gonna love him whether he’s in a suit or t-shirt, right? We’ve never really talked about it, I just ask him if there’s something special he wants to wear for picture day, he says no, and we get on with life. This is year six of picture day being a total non-issue at my house.

On the way to school, we pick up our carpool buddy, who looks *adorable* for picture day in her maxi skirt and pigtails. She looks at him, in his tie-dye t-shirt and shorts and here’s what follows:

Her: It’s PICTURE DAY! You FORGOT!

Him: No I didn’t.

Her: Then why are you wearing THAT? You’re supposed to dress up for picture day! It’s really important!

Him: I like it. And it’s not important, it’s just clothes.

Her: But this is the picture that will be in the yearbook! Everyone will remember you like this!

Him: Right… because this is how I always look. Why do I want people to remember me how I never looked?

Her: (sigh) You’re crazy.

Him: Yeah. I’m also comfortable. And I like what I’m wearing. You?

Her: My legs itch and my mom made me wear this. Plus my hair hurts.

Him: Sorry…

Her: Me too.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment